Information About

Ted Stevens Icefield

Quick Facts

Open in The Map Ted Stevens Icefield on The Map


61 ° 19' 60" N,
146 ° 49' 60" W


Valdez-Cordova (CA)


4888 ft (1489.86 m)

Ted Stevens Icefield in Detail.


Located in Chugach National Forest; comprising approximately 8,340 square miles; includes Harvard Glacier, Yale Glacier, Columbia Glacier, Nelchina Glacier, Tazlina Glacier, Valdez Glacier, and Shoup Glacier.


Named by the 111th Congress, and signed into law by President Obama, October 18th, 2010, "To designate a mountain and icefield in the State of Alaska as the 'Mount Stevens' and 'Ted Stevens Icefield', respectively." Named in honor of Theodore 'Ted' Fulton Stevens (1923-2010), United States Senator representing Alaska from 1968 to 2009.